West Marshall Communities:

State Center, Melbourne, St. Anthony, Clemons, Rhodes and LaMoille

The West Marshall Community School District Board of Education consists of seven community members elected by the citizens of the District. Board members are elected at-large and serve overlapping terms of four years.

The School Board acts to establish policies that govern the operation of the West Marshall School District. It has final control over local school matters limited by the state legislature, the courts, and the will of the people as expressed in School District elections.

The Board of Education takes action on matters in formal session with a majority (4-individuals) of members present. The Board President serves as the spokesperson for the School Board’s position on all items related to the public schools.

Regular session board-meetings are scheduled on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the High School Library 601 3rd Street NW, State Center Iowa, 50247. Special meetings are also called when necessary. All meeting notices are announced to local media and posted on the official bulletin-board located at: High School Library 601 3rd Street NW, State Center Iowa, 50247 (in the superintendent hallway) and website.

The Board of Education serves the public and all of its meetings, including committee meetings, are open to the community. Public attendance and input are encouraged by the Board of Education.

State law permits the Board to go into closed session only to discuss personnel matters, property acquisition, consult with attorneys, etc. These sessions must be posted and all action taken must conform with the requirements of the Iowa Open Meetings Law.